This area is set aside for off-topic discussion. Everything that's absolutely nothing to do with travel at all... But please, keep it polite! Forum netiquette rules still apply.
#18429 by VS045
21 Mar 2007, 21:46
Now I'm not an expert such matters, but to me it seemed pretty cr@p - very little gain for anyone. I'm definitely no left-winger but how is abolishing the 10p tax rate going to help anyone?

Please excuse me if I've made some economics/financial faux pas, these observations have been made with very little experience of tax.[:I]

VS.

P.S. didn't want to hijack Budget APD thread, so started new one
#164545 by Decker
21 Mar 2007, 22:09
Well it's the first budget I can remember whwere ostensibly I'll be better off after it!
#164548 by Scrooge
21 Mar 2007, 22:30
Originally posted by Decker
Well it's the first budget I can remember whwere ostensibly I'll be better off after it!

Funny, I thought the only people who are better off after a budget are those making lot's of money...good for you Mr D

Well I took a shot at reading the darn thing..now I have a headache.
#164555 by Decker
21 Mar 2007, 22:52
nah I just used Crapita's web site which has a calculator for these things. Not actually read it :) Best gains SEEM to be for those between 30 and 50K pa
#164558 by Scrooge
21 Mar 2007, 23:10
wow, thats amazingly fair for once
#164559 by MarkJ
21 Mar 2007, 23:16
A labour MP - who was trying to put the best spin on things - said on Radio 5 that a married couple where there was a single earner ( earning around £27k p.a.) with 2 children would be better off to the tune of £500 per year - and this was the best he could come up with!!

I guess - as ever - it depends upon what you do and which bits affect you personally!!

Funny how Brown makes the headline grabbing offer of 2p off income tax just before he runs for leader ( and PM ) of the labour party!!!

Politics - cynical - nah!![n]
#164575 by AlanA
22 Mar 2007, 00:43
Originally posted by MarkJ